Northwest AEA welcomes board members

SIOUX CITY, IA (Jan. 3, 2022)—Four board members were sworn in at last month’s Northwest AEA board of directors’ meeting, including three new directors.

Mike McAlpine is a returning board member who was re-elected to his post in District 2, including the school districts of Akron-Westfield, Boyden-Hull, Sheldon, Sioux Center, and West Sioux. He is a wealth management group president at Peoples Bank in Sioux Center.

Amy Hueser was elected to district 6, including the school districts of Lawton-Bronson, Sgt. Bluff-Luton, Sioux City precinct 13, West Monona, Westwood, Whiting, and Woodbury Central. She is a faculty development and assessment coordinator at Western Iowa Tech Community College.

Connie Richardson Smith is the director for district 8, including Sioux City precincts of 1, 3, 5, 10, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and territory in Plymouth County. She is a semi-retired educator who worked for the Sioux City Community School District and at Morningside College, where she led the Aerospace Education Science Camp.

Chris Spicer was elected to district 9, including schools in the precincts of 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, and 28 in Sioux City. He is the vice president for academic affairs at Morningside University.

These board members join five other directors for Northwest AEA: Roger Brinkert, district 3; Julie DeGroot, district 7; Henry Jessen, district 5; Amy Jurrens, district 1; and Patrick Murphy, district 4.


With offices in Cherokee, Denison, Le Mars, Onawa, Sioux Center, and Sioux City, Northwest Area Education Agency (AEA) works in partnership with public and accredited private schools in a 10-county area of northwest Iowa to help assure that all children reach their full potential. The AEA provides special education support services, media and technology services, a variety of instructional services, professional development and leadership to promote school improvement. The Iowa General Assembly created the state’s AEA system in 1975. It is widely regarded as one of the finest in the country. For more information about Northwest AEA, visit