Photo: Sally Hartley, Northwest AEA early childhood special education teacher/consultant, presents a Certificate of Quality Preschool Program Standards (QPPS) Verification to the school board president and preschool staff at the West Monona School Board Meeting on Oct. 15, 2012. This certificate represents the completion of the QPPS process for West Monona Preschools, which was held during the 2011-2012 school year.

Over the past six years, school districts across Iowa have spent many hours developing portfolios to verify their preschool programs standards. Each district in Iowa that receives four-year-old preschool funding is required to complete one of the standards of quality measurements, which could be the The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) accreditation, the QPPS, or Head Start standards.

Early childhood staff at Northwest AEA, including Mary Groen, Joyce Vermeer and Sally Hartley and Audrey Hansen (prior to her retirement), along with the Northwest AEA early childhood special education preschool teacher/consultants, including Becky Buckridge, Missy Puhrmann, Kim Blankespoor, Julie Cunningham, Staci Gallup, Sara Klingensmith, Anna Schmadeke, Cyndi Swingen, Honore Pittenger, Laura Ocker, Brenna Franken, Brenda Jenkins, Sue Moran, Linda Cron, and Brenda Neumann, provide support and collaboration for district staffs as they prepare their portfolios for QPPS verification.

QPPS verification visits occur within the second year of receiving funds; then, from that point on, they coincide with district state visits. Each district puts in many hours in order to develop a high-quality program to meet the needs of preschool children and families in their district.

This is a list of the community school districts that are or have gone through verification. Congrats to those that have already been verified and good luck to those schools that are still in the process!

1st year (08-09 school year): Sioux City, MVAO, G-LR, MOC-FV, Rock Valley, Cherokee (they did NAEYC Accreditation, not QPPS)
2nd year (09-10 school year): Whiting, Battle Creek-Ida Grove, Sheldon
3rd year (10-11 school year): West Sioux, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn
4th year (11-12 school year): Remsen-Union, Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn, Schleswig, Denison, Charter Oak-Ute, West Monona, Westwood, River Valley
5th year (12-13 school year): Central Lyon, West Lyon, Akron-Westfield, Aurelia, Woodbury Central, Hinton, Le Mars
6th year (13-14 school year): Sgt. Bluff-Luton, Ar-We-Va, Sibley-Ocheyden, South O'Brien, Galva-Holstein, Lawton-Bronson