It's amazing that March is already here and we have not experienced the normal Iowa winter! Hopefully, this will allow the State and school districts an opportunity to save money to be diverted for educational purposes.

This is also the time of the year when the final push is made in Des Moines for legislative issues. We are hopeful that the efforts of this year's legislature will make positive changes. Now it's time for you to make your voice heard about the education reform. Your voice is more important than you might think. One or two phone calls or e-mails make a big difference on the hill.

Let your legislator know how you feel. Here's a list of northwest Iowa legislators and their contact information:

Sen. Bill Anderson
bill.anderson@legis.state.ia.us

Sen. David Anderson
david.johnson@legis.state.ia.us

Sen. James Seymour
james.seymour@legis.state.ia.us

Sen. Randy Feenstra
randy.feenstra@legis.state.ia.us

Sen. Rick Bertrand
rick.bertrand@legis.state.ia.us

Sen. Steve Kettering
steve.kettering@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Chris Hall
Chris.Hall@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Chuck Soderberg
chuck.soderberg@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Dan Huseman
dan.huseman@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Dan Muhlbauer
Dan.Muhlbauer@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Dwayne Alons
dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Gary Worthan
gary.worthan@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Jason Schultz
jason.schultz@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Jeff Smith
Jeff.Smith@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Jeremy Taylor
Jeremy.Taylor@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Matt Windschitl
matt.windschitl@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Ron Jorgensen
Ron.Jorgensen@legis.state.ia.us

Rep. Royd Chambers
royd.chambers@legis.state.ia.us

As we push for long-term changes in our field, here are some short-term ideas for your immediate work. This month's blogs can be found below. For a complete listing of all blogs, please go to the Northwest AEA website. You can also sign up for an RSS feed to automatically receive blog updates (instructions provided on the Northwest AEA website):

Educationally yours,

Dr. Tim Grieves
Chief Administrator