December 20, 2019









SIOUX CITY, IA (Dec. 17, 2019)—Welcome to these newly elected board members of Northwest AEA. They were elected by school boards in their respective districts. From left to right: Julie DeGroot, District 7; Patrick Murphy, District 4; Amy Jurrens, District 1; and Henry Jessen, District 5.

Julie is a retired teacher from the Sioux City CSD. Patrick has been a longtime board member for the Le Mars CSD where the board has won 19 "Better Boardsmanship" awards from the Iowa Association of School Boards (IASB), which is a record! Amy Jurrens has served as an educator at Northwest Iowa Community College. Henry served on the former Western Hills AEA Board for several years. 

We look forward to working with this talented group, and thank them for their service to education in northwest Iowa!


With offices in Sioux City, Sioux Center, Cherokee, Denison, Le Mars and Onawa, Northwest Area Education Agency (AEA) works in partnership with public and accredited private schools in a 10-county area of northwest Iowa to help assure that all children reach their full potential. The AEA provides special education support services, media and technology services, a variety of instructional services, professional development and leadership to promote school improvement. The Iowa General Assembly created the state’s AEA system in 1975. It is widely regarded as one of the finest in the country. For more information about Northwest AEA, visit

« Back